Posted by: totalbaby | February 2, 2010

Pottery Classes

I went to my sencond class last night – its quite a long time to be out away from the family (2 hour class plus travel) but doing pottery is like a meditation. I get some head space and think of nothing but what I am doing. Its the only time in the week this is possible really and it is so rejuvenating. I have been to the class before, for a couple of terms, the last time I was heavily pregnant and missed the final two weeks as I was just so uncomfortable at the wheel. My plan is this time to learn more about using the wheel, I would love to make something practical and something I can feel proud of, rather than something a child might bring home from school…. I am improving, its great to see and a great feeling. I’ll see how it goes! I was hugely inspired by Jennifer from Drin Pottery.
http://drinpottery.blogspot.com/
Jennifer is a local potter who holds an open house every year to sell what she has made – I think t is fantastic and I love this kind of enterprise. I went along this year – she holds them about a month before Christmas, and bought a few things. Of course now she has done it and she lives so close I cant do it – plus as well I have a long way to go before I get to that stage!!! In the meantime I will just be making a few ‘useful pots for putting things in’. Thank goodness my best friend is also a fan of my pottery, and as she is a bit of a horder too I have an outlet for my creations! But my homework is to watch a few You Tube videos of people who can actually do it!!!


Leave a comment

Categories